The archetypes in astrology

Archetypal astrology is based on the archetypal perspective of depth psychology and interprets each planet in the birth chart as associated to an archetype or fundamental idea that the person will mediate to give shape creatively in a practical way in their life. Here are the main archetypes that combined can generate more:

Sun: Purpose
Moon: Belonging
Mercury: Perception
Venus: Values
Mars: Will
Saturn: Structure
Jupiter: Philosophies
Chiron: Wounds
Neptune: Dreams
Uranus: Revolution
Pluto: Survival

But what are the archetypes? This is what a great percentage of the history of philosophy is about.

The archetypes according to Plato

According to the Greek world view we interpret the world in terms of archetypal principles or universal ideas that underlay concrete reality, giving it form an meaning. There’s a universal idea of beauty and we judge that something is beautiful because we recognize the archetype of beauty present in it. For Plato, archetypes don’t exist just in human consciousness, but also in their own right embebbed in the very nature of things. The perceived object usually is a meeting place of many ideas which at different times express themselves in varying combinations and with varying degrees of intensity. Reality is always in the process of becoming and the ideas that make it are in itself authentic, timeless and eternal.
Plato was an astronomer and linked these ideas to the intelligent patterns of time associated with the heavenly bodies. Ideas where in a substrate of space, the void. He wrote that the planets define “the circle of the other” (the different ideas) and the fixed stars represent the circle of the same (the repetition of ideas in different guises). For Plato, these movements have to do with the soul or the Self moving. According to this theory, being is portrayed in the birth chart, becoming is what you are doing with it. That’s why sessions are a dialogue.

The archetypes according to Carl Jung

Jung took the Platonic concept of the archetypes and placed within the framework of depth psychology. For him the archetypes are the structural contents of the unconsious. They are primordial types or universal images that have existed since the remotest times. They are  the prior conditions or patterns of psychic formation in general. They have an essence in potential and in active existence but not in reality (as a thing). They are themselves not perceptible, irrepresentible (since they precede all representation), everywhere and "eternally" the same.
For Jung there is only one collective unconscious, which is everywhere identical with itself, from which everything psychic takes shape before it is personalised, modified, assimilated, etc, by external influences. He defines the collective unconscious as an air which is the same everywhere, is breathed by everybody and yet belongs to no one.  The archetypes include a shadow side.

The archetypes according to Gilles Deleuze

Gilles Deleuze developed the concept of archetypes or ideas as defined by Plato and Jung. He said that ideas are Dionysian, existing in an obscure zone whicy they themselves preserve and mantain, in an indifferentiation which is nevertheless perfectly differentiated, in a pre-individuality which is nevertheless singular. In a chaosmos, Ideas weave their repetitions in the depths of the earth and of the heart. The actualisation of ideas in an individual is creative of a dynamic space and time. It's affirmative, occuring by excess in the Idea. It's distinctive and singular.

Join the conversation. Share with readers from around the world.