The astrological signs

Carolina Sawney, MSc D Psych Astrol

Published in Spanish on Más Reino Unido, July 20th 2017, Londres

The characteristics associated to each sign are part of popular culture and we know that Aries is impulsive, Cancer is moody, Gemini is curious with multiple interests, Leo creative, Scorpio has depth, Capricorn is ambitious and Aquarius non-conformist. 

Less well known is that all the attributes associated to the signs are related through a thread that is the more fundamental essence symbolised by the stage of the trajectory that the Sun travels to determine the cycle of the seasons, as we observe it from the Earth. 

How are Leos?, for example. This is one of the frequent questions I get when I mention my profession. To show the sign in which the Sun is positioned in the birth chart is what even if we do naturally, we aspire to develop throughout life. 

Here is the essential perspective that is unique to each sign, with its opposite visions (Aries/Libra, Taurus/Scorpio, Gemini/Sagittarius, Cancer/Capricorn, Leo/Aquarius, Virgo/Pisces) and gradually complementary, in the cycle of the Sun from Aries to Pisces. 

The astrological sign of Aries

Aries in astrology

Aries is the first sign of the zodiac cycle: it marks birth, dawn and it’s associated with archetypal beginnings. It’s enterprising, pioneering and action orientated. Aries has a crusader temperament and needs a quest to experience his potency by conquering challenges and achieving new goals. It’s energetic, assertive, self- centred, wilful, courageous and adventurous.

The astrological sign of Taurus

Taurus in astrology

The second stage of the zodiac cycle is symbolises the development of solid values and talents that define the personality and attract substance that resonates with it, that provides a secure foundation. The bull is stable, patient and sensuous. This sign finds pleasure, beauty, harmony and satisfaction in daily life and tries to render what he values permanent to enjoy it for longer. If the wine is good, he is happy.

The astrological sign of Gemini

 in astrology

The third stage of the zodiac cycle is about developing relationships in the immediate environment. Gemini loves to find out what makes people tick. Like reporters, it registers the essentials of a situation, communicates it and quickly moves on. As a quicksilver lateral thinker he is very good at connecting disparate subjects and people. He’s wants to learn, compare, think, teach, communicate and exchange. He’s witty and multifaceted.

The astrological sign of Cancer

Cancer in astrology

The fourth stage of the zodiac cycle represents the emotional motivation for a base that provides security. The crab lives in the periphery of the sea, open to the tides of human feeling and collective imagination that give it a sense of belonging with the unity of life. It’s a sign of great sensitivity and empathy. It has a profound respect for the past as a repository of the continuity of life.

El signo astrológico de Leo

Leo in astrology

The fifth stage of the zodiac cycle represents the need to find the source of one’s creativity and exteriorise it, to inspire others and gain recognition and respect for this authentic contribution to society. As personal meaning is important, Leo is loyal and has strong convictions. Being a fire sign, Leo is intuitive, generous and trusting.

El signo astrológico de Virgo

Virgo in astrology

The sixth stage of the zodiac cycle symbolises the integration of mind and body to create the best synthesis of itself and thus contribute to the natural daily order of the organic world. Through the acquisition of knowledge that is useful, the application of skills and adjusting to the rituals of everyday life, Virgo becomes competent and works efficiently to produce results that provide a sense of health.

The astrological sign of Libra

Libra in astrology

The seventh stage of the zodiac cycle represents the search for ideal balances with others, with whom the basic ideas that distill who each one is, meet, complement, transform, complete or repel each other, while each one discovers, redefines and retains its own identity. Libra is prepared to change what he perceives as not beautiful or dissonant to restore proportions, harmony and beauty.

The astrological sign of Scorpio

Scorpio in astrology

The eight stage of the zodiac cycle is the place the survival instinct transforms itself to evolve. Familiar with situations of dramatic intensity, Scorpios need to engage with body and soul in what they do. Being a sign of profound sentiment and sensitivity, they understand about struggle, pain and the human condition, so they value true unions.

The astrological sign of Sagittarius

Sagittarius in astrology

The ninth stage of the zodiac cycle represents the need to expand one’s horizons to the larger world to discover the patterns of personal meaning to one’s experience. Sagittarius is adventurous so needs plenty of space to explore. The sign is full of aspirations and the journey to make them reality is what it enjoys the most.

The astrological sign of Capricorn

Capricorn in astrology

The tenth stage of the zodiac cycle symbolises the motivation to apply the organic laws of the material world to achieve a solid long term social contribution. Goals, challenges, tests, standards, experience and merits help Capricorns to develop their sense of authority. They value tradition and they want to change the world slowly from within.

The astrological sign of Aquarius

Aquarius in astrology

The eleventh stage of the zodiac cycle is about applying a system of ideas (social, political, scientific, etc) based on the recognition of human potential, to transform nature and change the world into a more egalitarian place where everyone has its role. Aquarians are forward looking, freedom loving, natural rebels and have humanitarian concerns.

The astrological sign of Pisces

Pisces in astrology

The twelfth stage of the zodiac represents the longing to return to the source of life. This is the repository of the immemorial past, the ancestral memory and the collective imaginary. This sign has great empathy, identifies with humanity and perceives like a sponge collective sentiments. Pisces can interpret this realm to communicate it with sensitivity and imagination. Emotional connection is very important.